Final Pattern Collection Boards

Once the patterns had been completed and I was happy with them (without realising I would grow to dislike some and change them around anyway), I put them together on a single A3 piece showing clearly what is hero, secondary and blender patterns and showing them as a cohesive collection alongside the title and the colour scheme.

IMG_0259

So as seen above my first collection is a stretch from my last, the hero pattern is blue instead of purple, and the purple printed out as a bright ugly pink. I comment that was suggested to me first of all was the last blender pattern was too detailed, and therefore became more of a secondary pattern, which worked out for the best, as I was advised to replace the pink secondary pattern as it did not produce a very good repeat and I agreed with this as there was far too much blank space on show each time it repeated, as well as now there was a fortunate gap for a new blender, which I was advised to fill with a pattern that was geometric instead of using florals again like the rest of the collection.

I also thought about the grey background, and considered that it could be distracting away from my designs as a whole, so I knew my next one would have to be changed to a lighter colour, even white, to be effective to show off my background images.

I felt myself when going back to my moodboard, that it was predominantly purple and yellow alongside my more neutral colours, with blue as more of an accent colour within the moodboard. So having my hero, a secondary and a blender as having blue backgrounds was something I thought I could reconsider. Having changed the final design to a light purple was really interesting, and I think worked well overall with the pattern, which had some small alterations too, such as enlarging the size of the thistle type motif which I think helped to change it up a lot.

IMG_0260

This was a more complete pattern collection that I was happy with, I think the colour scheme looks more efficient now and with the white background it gives it far more of a crisp clean feeling to it. The geometric pattern I think is a good touch to the collection however recent feedback means this will be altered slightly.

Author: tahliadavid

BA(hons) Textiles student at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a comment