Week 2 Day 4: Applique Stitching

On Wednesday I had a break from subject and went back to my constellation work, I found this to be a welcome break and began working towards my dissertation. So Thursday then I returned to the subject module, deciding today to complete my applique work.

These two images show the detail of working into the applique, I chose these two out of the bunch to talk about as I think they both look deceptively simple. The first one is a reverse applique design that I started last week, the fabric behind the window was handmade using small scraps of fabric that had bonnaweb on the back and then ironed down and stitched over. I think the added stitch around it to form the window and the bricks is interesting and adds a different colour into the scheme again too. The next one is an example of the three windows using different shapes and thread colours, I tried to change up the ways that I filled in these designs, these could look basic but the amount of stitch built up even in the one colour works well.

This one is another example of applique and stitch, but I also tried to add a lot of detail into the window by using dry felting fluff to sew into the designs, I think the fluff does add colour in an interesting way as it is much more random than I usually do with the stitches, I used a light blue thread too to stitch into the fluff to hold it down, which I think has given a nice texture to the window as well. I do think the stitch could have been better, seeing it flat like this shows the curve in the frame of the window but as I wanted to play with the felt I was more concerned with this than the other details in this image.

Author: tahliadavid

BA(hons) Textiles student at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a comment