Playing with Colour

IMG_3671IMG_3672

These examples from my sketchbook show examples of playing with colour that I found to be prominent in ancient Egyptian times. The blue also ties in with the cyanotyping that I want to do next which I think will work well with the deep red and gold of the skulls here. I did enjoy doing this, but as I take a step back now I am not sure if it is too messy to be part of my final piece, I think it makes the whole image look a little too unrealistic for what I wanted, so I think if I experiment further with painting I could find something that I quite like to do.

Acrylics were a good choice for this as I thought about the strong colour that they can portray, they also work well on fabric so I think that would be the next step to start producing samples on fabric as that is the material I have chosen to use on the final piece rather than paper.

In the style of Sue Reno, I have an idea for patchwork in my head but to make it more interesting and tie in better with the Egyptian theme, I want to now research ancient Egyptian dress and see about creating a kind of cloak of patchwork that depicts the skulls and maybe some other Egyptian symbols within it.

Author: tahliadavid

BA(hons) Textiles student at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a comment