Sketching Patterns

During my visit to the museum, I decided to have a go at sketching some of the patterns that I found were inspiring to me while walking around. I used a variety of media, including pencils, graphite, pens, fineliners and felt pens, as they were the easiest media to use in the museum as well as some of my favourites to use for five minute sketches.

Overall I found this to be a good exercise as it helped me to view the museum in a different way, as instead of looking at the artefact as one object, I viewed what I liked about its pattern or texture instead, which meant that I found very different things interesting for this as I did when I was reading about objects. Similarly, when I was doing the videos and seeking out circular objects, I found that was something I found to be particularly interesting too and again I viewed the objects differently as I found I was more attracted to circular objects than to pieces overall that I found interesting.

Author: tahliadavid

BA(hons) Textiles student at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a comment