Digital Stitch

This was something I was really looking forward to as we did not have much opportunity to stitch this term apart from bits I did by myself at home, I thought about the design I wanted to do after doing the basic workshop to learn the techniques on it which I think was very beneficial and easy to understand.

IMG_0065

I really liked the motif fill especially so I knew I was going to use this and I also liked the effect of the turning angle fill as well as it produced this shine to it in the unusual shapes used in some of the leaves so I thought I could also use this.

IMG_0120

This is the design I ended up producing on the software, using a circle fill for the centre of the flower, a motif fill for the petals with an border around and initially the leaves were done with a turning angle fill but it was advised to me that the leaf actually did so little turning it might as well be done as a satin fill so this is what I changed it to instead. I also spent a long time changing the anchor points to ensure I did not have that many so the work was more structured and flowing.

I was happy with the final results and it was a great experience watching the digital machine going for it by itself, I was able to learn how to change over the colours and the bobbins and even reverse it when the stitch went wrong for a few lines so I was glad to have these skills in preparation for next year.

Author: tahliadavid

BA(hons) Textiles student at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a comment